The Democratic Nationwide Committee has formally elected Jaime Harrison of South Carolina as chairman.

At a digital post-inauguration assembly on Thursday (January 21), Harrison was voted in and joined by vice chairs Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms, Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer, Illinois Sen. Tammy Duckworth and U.S. Rep. Filemon Vela Jr. of Texas.

“We’re all part of a motion that you just all began, and we’re nowhere close to carried out,” Harrison mentioned on Thursday, based on the Associated Press. He additionally thanked the social gathering’s outgoing leaders. “I’ve no intention of letting victory flip into complacency… There may be vital work forward of us.”

RELATED: Jaime Harrison Sets Congressional Fundraising Record With $57 Million Haul

Harrison, who launched an election marketing campaign that got here nearer than many believed to unseat incumbent South Carolina senator Lindsey Graham, succeeds Tom Perez as DNC Chair. He was a key liaison with state social gathering leaders with whom Perez endured generally rocky relationships.

“I’m assured that Jaime will … take us to even increased heights,” Perez mentioned throughout Thursday’s assembly. 

Harrison acquired 407 out of 411 doable votes.